Mobile Phones in Hospitals

Posted: February 17, 2012 in Chat
Tags: , ,

It started off, we were told/ it was suggested we Do Not use mobile phones in hospitals – because they can affect the sensitive equipment in use there.

Sounds so reasonable – frequencies, wavelengths; constant monitoring equipment etc etc.

Then everywhere – I am talking here about the acme of informed representation, in films and on tv – we see phones in use on hospitals again. I think I even remember one of the fictional representatives of the medical profession assuring the user that it perfectly ok to use them.

It was just an ill-informed scare story – you know, the sort the liberal/libertarian wusses flap about along with their PC rubbish.

And then, well, my wife was hospital visiting and having time on her hands: hospitals – all waiting, little of the seeing-to – got chatting to a nurse.

And the latest directive from medical counsels is that

YES,

they Can interfere with ECG, EEG, even Pace-Makers.

I have not seen any reports of any problems – but then, I do not read Medical journals; nor do I read a wide swatch of newspapers. How would I know?

Maybe it is even thought  ‘convenient’, by interested parties, to play it down.

If so it cannot be long before we start to read/read reports in this field.

As for me I think I’d choose to err on the side of caution.

Comments
  1. PaulyS says:

    Whenever I’ve been in hospital, I’ve always been told that it’s fine to use my mobile. I expect different PCT’s have different rules, but up norf!

    • So much conflicting info – what does a sensible, responsible person do?
      Oop norf, or darn sarf: s’all the same all over now.
      No way out! No way out!
      Maybe it is… all over now.
      (It does indeed feel like that sometimes!)

  2. liminal city says:

    Apparently the police system uses more powerful signals and causes even more interference, you’d think they’d think these things through!

    • Thanks fer yer innerest!

      Nothing ever does seem to get thought through, though, does it! Makes me wonder if anything ever has. Would answer a lot of questions!

      I remember leaving uni, after several years of essays. dissertations etc where every point had to be backed up, every conclusion inferred from the premise etc etc – and then to find what a wishy-washy, ad-hoc world it was!

      A kind of culture-shock I’m still reeling from; except now it is called cynicism.

Leave a Reply

